Galileo launches four more satellites

July 24, 2018  - By
0 Comments

The European Space Agency launched the next four Galileo satellites on an Ariane 5 on Wednesday July 25, at 11:25 GMT (13:25 CEST, 08:25 local time) from Europe’s Spaceport in Kourou, French Guiana.

These latest four Galileo satellites will bring the constellation in orbit up to 26 satellites.

You can watch the launch live starting at 4 a.m. local time.

Livestream coverage of the launch starts at 11:00 GMT (13:00 CEST) with liftoff at 11:25 GMT (13:25 CEST).

Live coverage resumes with confirmation of the satellites separating from their upper stage from 14:50 GMT (16:50 CEST).

Separation of the Ariane 5’s upper stage occurs about nine minutes after liftoff, followed by the first 10-minute firing of the upper stage.

The upper stage — carrying four 715-kg Galileo satellites — flies in ballistic configuration for three hours and eight minutes, after which a second upper stage firing lasting just over six minutes will place it into circular separation orbit.

Once stabilized at 3h 36 min after liftoff, the Galileo dispenser will release the first two satellites, followed by the second pair 20 minutes later.

In the meantime, check out ESA’s new Galileo video.

The Ariane 5 carrying Galileo satellites 23-26 is in place at the ZL3 launch site ready for liftoff. (Photo: ESA)

The Ariane 5 carrying Galileo satellites 23-26 is in place at the ZL3 launch site ready for liftoff. (Photo: ESA)

About the Author:


Tracy Cozzens has served as managing editor of GPS World magazine since 2006, and also is editor of GPS World’s sister website, Geospatial Solutions. She has worked in government, for non-profits, and in corporate communications, editing a variety of publications for audiences ranging from federal government contractors to teachers.

Post a Comment